Proverbs

Proverbs is definitely one of my favorite books of the bible. Perhaps because I sure can use more wisdom.

It is a collection of wise sayings, truisms, by King Solomon who was given wisdom from Jehovah himself. This collection of godly wisdom Is indeed a treasure!

“The fear of Jehovah is the beginning of knowledge.” Prov. 1:7

“The fear of Jehovah is the start of wisdom.” Prov. 9:10

As I read this book again, this time I am struck by something new. As my son is now in his early teens without a father in his life, I am reminded how much a young man needs guidance from a man, and more importantly, from a god fearing man. Thus leaving me feeling inadequate for the job. But….

In Proverbs chapters 1-9, King Solomn has written for us fatherly advice to a son, This is invaluable.

Our father, Jehovah is sharing to our sons, the way to become wise and succeed! Yes it applies to women too in many ways, but this is direct counsel from a father to his son, knowing the mind and heart of a man.

I feel like Jehovah has just given me a key to help my son. And I never will look at the opening words of Proverbs quite the same again.

Thank you Jehovah!

Leave a Reply

